Task Group Releases Report on Magisterial District Court Security

News Article

August 28, 2020

Following a comprehensive review of security measures and vulnerabilities at magisterial district court offices statewide, a report released today sets forth recommendations focused on improving safety and security for all court users.

Established in 2019 by the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts (AOPC), the Magisterial District Court Security Task Group completed its work recently to review the security posture of Pennsylvania’s 512 magisterial district courts.

The report released today by the AOPC sets forth eight recommendations, focused on improving safety and security for the public, court users, staff and judges.

These recommendations, like the entire report, are made by members of the Task Group and not the AOPC or the Supreme Court.

Members of the Task Group include:

  • John H. Fishel, Magisterial District Judge, York County (chair)
  • Edward D. Reibman, President Judge, Lehigh County
  • Ronald J. Haggerty, Jr. Magisterial District Judge, Fayette County
  • Beth S. Mills, Magisterial District Judge, Allegheny County
  • Bill C. Wenner, Magisterial District Judge, Dauphin County
  • Tammy Jo Lambie, District Court Administrator, Somerset County
  • Patricia Norwood-Foden, District Court Administrator, Chester County
  • Kathy Sauter, Magisterial District Judge Special Courts Administrator, Monroe County
  • Todd Graybill, County Commissioner, Juniata County
  • Brinda Penyak, Deputy Director, County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania
  • Trooper Christopher Shoap, Risk and Vulnerability Assessment Team, Pa State Police


Read the executive summary of Task Group report on the UJS website.




Media contact: Stacey Witalec, 717-877-2997


Back to search results