[J-2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 31-2012] IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA MIDDLE DISTRICT

AMANDA E. HOLT, ELAINE TOMLIN, LOUIS: No. 7 MM 2012 NUDI, DIANE EDBRIL, DARIEL I. JAMIESON, : LORA LAVIN, JAMES YOEST, JEFFREY: MEYER, CHRISTOPHER H. FROMME,: Appeal from the Legislative TIMOTHY F. BURNETT, CHRIS HERTZOG, : GLEN ECKHART, and MARY FRANCES: BALLARD,

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

SENATOR JAY COSTA, SENATOR: LAWRENCE M. FARNESE. JR., SENATOR: CHRISTINE M. TARTAGLIONE, SENATOR: SHIRLEY M. KITCHEN, SENATOR LEANNA: M. WASHINGTON, SENATOR MICHAEL J.: STACK, SENATOR VINCENT J. HUGHES, : SENATOR ANTHONY Н. WILLIAMS, : **SENATOR** JUDITH L. SCHWANK,: SENATOR JOHN T. YUDICHAK, SENATOR: DAYLIN LEACH, SENATOR LISA SENATOR BOSCOLA, ANDREW E.: DINNIMAN, SENATOR JOHN P. BLAKE,: SENATOR RICHARD Α. KASUNIC, : SENATOR JOHN N. WOZNIAK, SENATOR: JIM FERLO. SENATOR WAYNE D. : SENATOR **JAMES** FONTANA. BREWSTER, and SENATOR TIMOTHY J.: SOLOBAY.

No. 1 WM 2012

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

MAYOR CAROLYN COMITTA; COUNCIL: No. 2 MM 2012 PRESIDENT HOLLY BROWN; WILLIAM J.: SCOTT, JR.; HERBERT A. SCHWABE, II; : JANE HEALD CLOSE; FLOYD ROBERT: Appeal from the Legislative DAVID LALEIKE; E. BRIAN: Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 BIELSKI; ABBOTT; NATHANIEL SMITH; and W.: Legislative Reapportionment DONALD BRACELAND.

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION,

Respondent

MAYOR LEO SCODA and PERSON JENNIFER MAYO,

COUNCIL: No. 3 MM 2012

Petitioners.

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION.

Respondent

THOMAS SCHIFFER, ALISON BAUSMAN,: No. 4 MM 2012 RACHEL J. AMDUR, JOAN TARKA.: MARGARET G.: LAWRENCE W. ABEL. MORSCHECK, LAWRENCE J. CHRZAN,: Appeal from the Legislative JULIA SCHULTZ and SHIRLEY RESNICK,

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment : Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

SEKELA COLES, CYNTHIA JACKSON and: No. 5 MM 2012 LEE TALIAFERRO,

Petitioners

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment

٧.

٧.

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

PATTY KIM,

No. 6 MM 2012

Petitioner

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

EDWARD J. BRADLEY, JR., PATRICK: No. 8 MM 2012 MCKENNA, JR., DOROTHY GALLAGHER,: RICHARD H. LOWE, and JOHN F. "JACK": BYRNE,

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION, :

Respondent

DENNIS J. BAYLOR, : No. 9 MM 2012

Petitioner

: Appeal from the Legislative

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment

v. : Legislative Reapportionment : Commission, dated December 12, 2011

.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

ANDREW DOMINICK ALOSI, : No. 10 MM 2012

Petitioner

Appeal from the Legislative

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT

COMMISSION.

٧.

٧.

Respondent

CARLOS A. ZAYAS, : No. 17 MM 2012

Petitioner

Appeal from the Legislative

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT:

COMMISSION,

Respondent

WILLIAM C. KORTZ, MICHELLE L. VEZZANI, : No. 4 WM 2012
MICHAEL E. CHEREPKO, GREGORY:
EROSENKO, JOYCE POPOVICH, JOHN:
BEVEC, LISA BASHIOUM, and RICHARD: Appeal from the Legislative

CHRISTOPHER.

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

: Commission, dated December 12, 2011

FILED: January 25, 2012

Petitioners

:

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

DISSENTING STATEMENT

MR. JUSTICE SAYLOR

Based on the petitions, briefs, and argument, I am not persuaded that the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Plan is contrary to law as reflected in the existing precedent. Although I am receptive to the concern that past decisions of the Court may suggest an unnecessarily stringent approach to equalization of population as between voting districts, I believe this could be addressed via prospective guidance from the Court.

Mr. Justice Eakin and Madame Justice Orie Melvin join this dissenting statement.