[J-2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 31-2012] IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA MIDDLE DISTRICT

AMANDA E. HOLT, ELAINE TOMLIN, LOUIS: No. 7 MM 2012 NUDI, DIANE EDBRIL, DARIEL I. JAMIESON, : LORA LAVIN, JAMES YOEST, JEFFREY: MEYER, CHRISTOPHER H. FROMME,: Appeal from the Legislative TIMOTHY F. BURNETT, CHRIS HERTZOG, : GLEN ECKHART, and MARY FRANCES: BALLARD,

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

SENATOR JAY COSTA, SENATOR: LAWRENCE M. FARNESE. JR., SENATOR: CHRISTINE M. TARTAGLIONE, SENATOR: SHIRLEY M. KITCHEN, SENATOR LEANNA: M. WASHINGTON, SENATOR MICHAEL J.: STACK, SENATOR VINCENT J. HUGHES, : SENATOR ANTHONY Н. WILLIAMS, : **SENATOR** JUDITH L. SCHWANK,: SENATOR JOHN T. YUDICHAK, SENATOR: DAYLIN LEACH, SENATOR LISA SENATOR BOSCOLA, ANDREW E.: DINNIMAN, SENATOR JOHN P. BLAKE,: SENATOR RICHARD Α. KASUNIC, : SENATOR JOHN N. WOZNIAK, SENATOR: JIM FERLO. SENATOR WAYNE D. : SENATOR **JAMES** FONTANA. BREWSTER, and SENATOR TIMOTHY J.: SOLOBAY.

No. 1 WM 2012

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

MAYOR CAROLYN COMITTA, COUNCIL: No. 2 MM 2012 PRESIDENT HOLLY BROWN, WILLIAM J.: SCOTT, JR., HERBERT A. SCHWABE, II,: JANE HEALD CLOSE, FLOYD ROBERT: Appeal from the Legislative BIELSKI, DAVID LALEIKE, E. BRIAN: Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 ABBOTT, NATHANIEL SMITH, and W.: Legislative Reapportionment DONALD BRACELAND.

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

Petitioners

٧.

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION.

Respondent

MAYOR LEO SCODA and PERSON JENNIFER MAYO.

COUNCIL: No. 3 MM 2012

Petitioners

Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT COMMISSION,

Respondent

THOMAS SCHIFFER, ALISON BAUSMAN,: AMDUR. JOAN TARKA.: RACHEL J. LAWRENCE W. ABEL, MARGARET G.: MORSCHECK, LAWRENCE J. CHRZAN,: Appeal from the Legislative JULIA SCHULTZ and SHIRLEY RESNICK,

No. 4 MM 2012

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment

Petitioners Commission, dated December 12, 2011 ٧. 2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION, Respondent SEKELA COLES, CYNTHIA JACKSON and: No. 5 MM 2012 LEE TALIAFERRO. Petitioners Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011 ٧. 2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION, Respondent PATTY KIM, No. 6 MM 2012 Petitioner Appeal from the Legislative Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment ٧. Commission, dated December 12, 2011 2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION, Respondent EDWARD J. BRADLEY, JR., PATRICK: No. 8 MM 2012 MCKENNA, JR., DOROTHY GALLAGHER,: RICHARD H. LOWE, and JOHN F. "JACK":

Appeal from the LegislativeReapportionment Plan of the 2011

Petitioners : Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

BYRNE.

٧.

٧.

٧.

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION.

Respondent

DENNIS J. BAYLOR, : No. 9 MM 2012

Petitioner

: Appeal from the Legislative

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

ANDREW DOMINICK ALOSI, : No. 10 MM 2012

Petitioner

Appeal from the Legislative

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT:

COMMISSION,

Respondent

CARLOS A. ZAYAS, : No. 17 MM 2012

Petitioner

Appeal from the Legislative

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011

Legislative Reapportionment

Commission, dated December 12, 2011

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT:

COMMISSION,

Respondent

WILLIAM C. KORTZ, MICHELLE L. VEZZANI, : No. 4 WM 2012 MICHAEL E. CHEREPKO. GREGORY: EROSENKO, JOYCE POPOVICH, JOHN: BEVEC, LISA BASHIOUM, and RICHARD: Appeal from the Legislative CHRISTOPHER.

Petitioners

Reapportionment Plan of the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, dated December 12, 2011

٧.

2011 LEGISLATIVE REAPPORTIONMENT: COMMISSION,

Respondent

ORDER

PER CURIAM DECIDED: January 25, 2012

AND NOW, this 25th day of January, 2012, upon consideration of the petitions for review and briefs in these legislative redistricting appeals, and after entertaining oral argument on January 23, 2012, this Court finds that the final 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Plan is contrary to law. PA. CONST. art. II, § 17(d). Accordingly, the final 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Plan is **REMANDED** to the 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission with a directive to reapportion the Commonwealth in a manner consistent with this Court's Opinion, which will follow. Id.

The 2001 Legislative Reapportionment Plan, which this Court previously ordered to "be used in all forthcoming elections to the General Assembly until the next constitutionally mandated reapportionment shall be approved," Albert v. 2001 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, 790 A.2d 989, 991 (Pa. 2002) (quoting per curiam order),

For administrative purposes only, we have designated the appeal in Holt v. 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Commission, 7 MM 2012 / J-7-2012, as the lead case.

shall remain in effect until a revised final 2011 Legislative Reapportionment Plan having the force of law is approved. PA. CONST. art. II, § 17(e).

All 2012 election dates shall remain the same, with the exception of the primary election calendar, which is adjusted as follows:

petitions

Thursday, February 16 Last day to file nomination

petitions

Thursday, February 23 Last day to file objections to set

aside nomination petitions

Monday, February 27 Last day that court may fix for

hearings on objections to

nomination petitions

Friday, March 2 Last day for court to finally

determine objections to nomination petitions

Friday, March 2 Last day for withdrawal by

candidates who filed nomination

petitions

Any signatures on nomination petitions dated January 24 or January 25, 2012, shall be deemed valid as to timeliness, subject, however, to any other statutory challenge.

Jurisdiction is retained.

Mr. Justice Saylor files a dissenting statement, in which Mr. Justice Eakin and Madame Justice Orie Melvin join.